Capture the Flag

Shellphish is primarily a CTF team, and the Shellphish Support Syndicate helps Shellphish compete in these CTF competitions. Do you want to help Shellphish? Contact us to learn more.

Research and Development

Shellphish also competes in other cybersecurity competitions, such as the 2016 DARPA Cyber Grand Challenge. We’re interested in building large systems that can identify software vulnerabilities automatically.


Shellphish cares deeply about cybersecurity education and developing the next generation of hackers. From iCTF to how2heap and, we think everyone can and should learn to hack!

About Us

The Shellphish Support Syndicate was born out of a desire to see the Shellphish CTF team succeed at everything they do.

Shellphish Timeline

Onward toward hacking

  • Shellphish Logo


    Shellphish Founded

    UCSB Professor Giovanni Vigna (aka zanardi) founded Shellphish to compete in the DEF CON CTF competition.

  • Shellphish team winning DEF CON CTF

    August 2005

    Shellphish Won DEF CON CTF

    The Shellphish team consisting of Giovanni Vigna, Davide Balzarotti, Greg Banks, Wilson Chen, Ryan Dixon, Vika Felmetsger, Paul Haas, Chris Kruegel, Darren Mutz, Dan Nurmi, Will Robertson, and Fredrik Valeur won DEF CON CTF!

  • Shellphish CGC Logo


    Shellphish Competes in CGC

    Not knowing what they were signing up for, Shellphish eagerly attempts to compete in the DARPA Cyber Grand Challenge.

  • August 2016

    Shellphish Wins 3rd Place at CGC

    After a hard-fought competition, Shellphish’s Cyber Reasoning System The Mechanical Phish won 3rd place in the DARPA Cyber Grand Challenge.

  • 2016–2023

    Shellphish Expands

    Shellphish students become Shellphish professors, expanding the team to ASU, Purdue, and beyond.

  • August 2023

    Shellphish Support Syndicate is Born

    With the announcment of the AIxCC, the Shellphish Support Syndicate was created!

  • March 2024

    Shellphish Support Syndicate Wins $1M from DARPA AIxCC Small Business Track Competition

    One of seven winners of the $1M prize in the DARPA Artificial Intelligence Cyber Challenge (AIxCC) Small Business Track Competition.


The folks that organize everything.

Adam Doupé

Chairperson and CEO

Fish Wang

Chief Financial Officer

Yan Shoshitaishvili

Chief Scientist

Jackie LeFevers

Chief Operating Officer